RSS Feed

Friendship

Posted on

I have never been one of those people who have a huge group of friends.  I have always been much more comfortable with a smaller group around me.  I like KNOWING the people I am friends with and I love them intensely.  I have always preferred the more in depth relationships to the surface ones.  And because of this, I do tend to get hurt easily if I feel like that love isn’t returned.  But, I do consider myself lucky.  I am not one to require constant companionship, but over the years I have made some wonderful friendships that I know will be around forever.  And I know that they love me as intensely as I love them.

To me friends are those who know you and love you anyway.  They are the ones that you can feel crummy around and they don’t need you to entertain them or even change out of your pajamas if you don’t want to.  They will come visit you in the hospital (and offer to bring you stuff to color). 

They love your kids as much as they love you. 

They celebrate with you and listen to you when you need to vent.  And when you are at the lowest point you can think of being – they say that one thing that makes you realize just how much you are loved. (I don’t even think this particular friend would know what I am talking about because when she said it, it was genuine and not self-serving in any way, shape or form.)

They listen without judgement, but are honest with their opinions.  But, regardless of those opinions, they support you.  You can “disagree” on politics without it impacting the relationship.

You can go months (literally) without seeing or talking to them and pick up right where you left off.  Or in some cases, you can go years before you actually get to even meet them, but know that you have a soul mate sight unseen.  Yes, I have been blessed to have some of the people in my life that I have. 

ImageImage

ImageImage

Image

I am also fortunate that I have grown to become really good friends with my sibling.  The one person in life who knows everything and has weathered the storms and the fortune side by side with me literally from the beginning.

Image

And my husband.  We are partners and actually enjoy each other’s company.  He drives me crazy, but he makes me laugh and I love him.

Image

Anyway, these people (those pictured and those not) make my life amazing… I love you all.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

Leave a Reply

