RSS Feed

Road Rage Kind of Day

Posted on

Things have been relentless lately.  The girls have been a little under the weather and my husband and I are knee deep in home renovation projects.  When I am not at work, I am solo parenting so my husband can try to knock out some of the major projects we have going on around the house that he can’t do when the girls are under foot.  Never mind that I also have painting and things that still need to be done around the house.  I can’t even think about that right now.  The house work is piling up and it feels like every time I actually get something picked up, put away, washed or organized, the girls have managed to completely demolish a different area of the house.  To be honest, I am exhausted.

It was one of those days where I finally had to jump ship and tell Dave that I needed a break to run errands by myself.  Most Moms (and probably Dad’s too) can understand that sad feeling when going to the grocery store is like a freaking vacation.  That was me today.  I spend 3 hours running things to Goodwill, browsing the aisles in Target and picking up hot dog buns for dinner.  It was a much needed break… not perfect because so many adults in society are as bad or worse than my toddler and preschooler, but it was still luxurious to not have to lug the kids in and out of car seats and to be able to quiet for a while.  I didn’t even have the radio on in the car.  Just quiet.

In my efforts to become a “better me”, I am trying really hard to live more in the moment and not let the bad moods and stress take control of me and my life.  This is harder to do when things pile up like they have been, but I am really trying.  So, after my break, I threw together a very simple cookout to welcome a good friend home from his year in Poland and enjoyed a couple beers, some good food and outside time (on the newly refinished and sealed deck) with my friends and family.  The girls even decided to be on their best behavior.

Image

And in the spirit of trying to be more positive, when I start getting depressed and overwhelmed, I try to find a few things I am grateful for to help spin things in a better direction.  During tonight’s dinner, I decided that I am grateful that Meredith is such a great eater.  Check out my little rabbit munching on her salad.

ImageImage

Simply adorable.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

Leave a Reply

