RSS Feed

Little Artist

Posted on

Art has been a part of my life forever.  I grew up sketching and drawing… eventually evolved into charcoal and a little water color.  Finally ended up immersed in the darkroom and photography.  To this day, my college art thesis is one of the best things I have ever accomplished.

I want my kids to have things like that in their lives… things that brings them joy, grows to help define them and give them a sense of accomplishment and pride.  I don’t really care what those things end up being for them, but I am not going to lie… I would be very excited if one of them became an artist.

Nora has thus far not shown a very strong interest in the whole art thing.  She does not even really like coloring books.  When she does do “art” she often colors or stamps a small part of the paper and moves on.  Meredith seems to enjoy the act of coloring a little more, which is ironic because she is proving to be slow in actually learning which color is which.  But, the other day Nora painted this:
Image

She had a whole story about it.  The thing in the bottom left hand corner is a snail – a pretty good one too if I do say so myself.  I think the dots behind it were lily pads or stepping stones or something along those lines.  I love that she used so much color.  And that she used the whole page.  And that there was a creative plan behind what she did.  I love that it’s official art.

She may not become an artist or even end up getting the joy from art that I do, but that won’t stop me from savoring this particular creation as much as I can.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

Leave a Reply

