RSS Feed

Books for Little Girls

Posted on

I love reading.  I want my kids to love reading.  I have wonderful memories of my Mom reading chapter books to me and my brother before bed when we younger and I am so excited to start this tradition with my girls in a few years.

Until then, we read the more appropriate children’s books before bed every night.  I try to introduce them to the classics from my own childhood, but there are also a few new ones that we have discovered together and I have fallen in love with.

One of these is Betsy B. Little, by Anne Mcevoy.

Image

I am a little embarrassed to admit that I actually teared up the first time I read this book.  I LOVE the message behind this story.  It encourages embracing differences and overcoming obtacles in a way that exceeds any and all expectations.  And it is told in such a cute way.  I highly recommend this to all parents, but especially those with young girls.

Another more recent find is The Monster Princess, by DJ MacHale.

Image

This one also has a good message about accepting yourself as you are and finding the light you bring to the world because you are you.  But, I mainly like this one because it’s a cute little story that combines two things my girls are obsessed with, princesses and monsters (don’t ask).  This one will have to go back to the library soon, but I might have to add it to our permanent library because of how much fun we have reading it together.

I love that my kids give me an excuse to explore the children’s section in the library.  It warms my heart.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

Leave a Reply

