RSS Feed

Pacifier Addict

Posted on

Both of my kids used pacifiers.  I got rid of Nora’s around 21 months of age.  It was relatively uneventful.  We tossed them, she asked for them that night, but once we reminded her that they were gone, she didn’t really ask again.  I remember it took a couple days for her to relearn how to fall asleep without that comfort item, but she didn’t cry and overall surprised me with how well she did.

Meredith is another story all together.  She is a full fledged, all out, pacifier addict.

Image

Please note how many she is holding in her hands.

Image

And because she is an addict, I feel like taking them away today is going to be a lot like an intervention.  And I anticipate a battle.

The following has been the plan so far: (And yes, I am embarrassed that the plan is this in depth.)

– Located all stray pacifiers this morning after she woke up and got rid of them.

– Took Meredith to Build A Bear, where she picked out a bunny.  I then told her that we were going to put one of her paci’s inside the bunny to keep it safe as a memory, but that we weren’t going to use them anymore.  (Part of me won’t be surprised to find this bunny torn apart come morning.)

– Came home, attempted nap.  Screaming and crying ensued.  There was no nap.

– The paci fairy also came while Meredith was in her bath, bringing her a new night time story book and some new spoons.  (She is obsessed with holding spoons, they are her comfort item of choice after the pacifier.)

We are about to attempt bedtime and I will fully admit that I am terrified about how this is going to go.  I love Meredith’s feisty nature, but I know that when she commits to something, her stubbornness and temper are a force to be reckoned with.

Wish us luck.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

One response »

  1. In case anyone is interested in the follow up to this elaborate pacifier elimination plan, here it is. Meredith is officially pacifier free. The first night she cried for a few minutes then apparently wandered down the hall where I found her sound asleep in my bed later on. Not exactly what I was looking for, but at least she problem solved. The next few nights she went down with very little fuss and slept all night pacifier free. She hasn’t napped without them yet (boo!) and she has been getting up a lot earlier than her usual, but all in all, I will take it. Much better than expected.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

