RSS Feed

God Grant Me Patience

Posted on

This morning I was “that Mom” dragging her kids out of the library with a screaming Meredith tucked under my arm.

I am also pretty certain she continued to cry approximately 90% of the rest of the day, including when she refused to nap.

Image

Meredith is a difficult toddler.  She has defined the “terrible twos” for me and my husband.  Nora was no where near this emotional or problematic.  She is giving us a run for our money.

Today she cried because:

She couldn’t get her flip flops on.

I tried to help her get her flip flops on.

I wouldn’t let her wear the chocolate stained dress she pulled out of her laundry basket.

I wouldn’t let her not wear a diaper to the library.

Her sister sat next to her on the couch.

I asked her if she wanted breakfast.

I told her that Daddy was at work.

The dog stepped on her foot.

I could go on.

Image

I know this stage will end.  (If it doesn’t, you may have to commit me.)  Some days though, it is all I can do not to hide in the closet for a while.  Of course, it would do no good, I am sure she would come and find me.  So, to get me through, I make myself take note of the wonderful things that are distinctly Meredith that make me smile.

This list is hardly complete.

1) She spontaneously grabs your face in her hands so that you are looking right at her and hugs you, saying “I love you.”  I melt every time.

2) She eats Slim Jims for breakfast.  Spicy ones at that.

3) She is obsessed with tools.  Screwdrivers are her favorite.

4) She thinks it’s hysterical when she is naked.  And she runs around yelling “naked baby!” when she is.

5) She dances every day.

6) She tells my husband daily that I am her Momma.  Ya know, just in case he didn’t know.

7) She narrates her entire life.  Seriously, her entire life.

8) She is my blonde little pixie and when she loves and lives, she does it with 100% of her being.  (So, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that her anger and frustration have just as much commitment behind them.)

9) She tries to convince me that her poopy diapers are chocolate.  It’s really kind of gross, but it makes both of us laugh.

10) She sings often, even if she has to make up the words.  The other day she was singing “Happy Birthday” to a hair brush.

Image

Dear Meredith,

I hope we both survive the next year or so.

Love you,

Mommy.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

One response »

  1. I love hearing about your life. you have grown into a lovely, thoughtful, and truthful woman.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

