RSS Feed

My Happy Place

Posted on

I love coffee.

And it’s not because I am a huge connoisseur of gourmet coffee and espresso.  And it’s not about the caffeine (although that is a plus).  In fact, I don’t even drink it daily.  For me, drinking coffee isn’t something I do, it’s an experience.  One that makes me strangely happy.

I love feeling the warmth and holding the mug.

This is my current favorite.

Image

I like that it’s orange and stripey.

For whatever reason, generally when I actually take the time to make myself a cup of coffee, it is with purpose.  It’s because I need something for me, something that makes me feels nurtured and peaceful.  It feels like a luxury.  And yes, I realize all of this makes me sound weird.

When Nora was younger and Meredith was a newborn, my most relaxing moments as a new Mom of two, were when I would fill up the water table on our deck outside and drink my coffee while Nora played and Meredith watched in her bouncy chair.

ImageImage

I will also admit that I love that I now live close to a Starbucks with a drive thru.  On my back to back work days, when I have little time to even pause to breathe, picking up my grande skinny vanilla latte makes me feel 100% better about going back in to work.

The other day, I had an hour of freedom while Nora was at preschool where I was able to actually go sit outside at a coffee shop and leisurely sip my latte.  It was heaven.  Pure heaven.  It was a beautiful cool morning and I had nothing to do but drink my coffee and be alone with my thoughts.  Amazing.  While I was sitting there, I also decided that coffee shops are like playgrounds for adults.  Everyone sitting there drinking their coffee or tea looked content and rejuvenated, much like I imagine playing at a great park does for young kids.

I do have the occasional morning cup of coffee, meant to wake me up, which is drank hurriedly and often ends up cold because I am trying to do 8 million other things.  But, more often than not, when I decide to drink my coffee, I take time to enjoy it and the world around me.  Maybe that is why I really love it so much.  Because of the experience I make it into.  It gives me an excuse to sit.

I love that coffee reminds me of cooler weather and Fall, which is something else that makes me immensely happy.

I love the flavors and frothiness.

I love the way it warms your insides and steams your face.

I love my Keurig.

But, enough about coffee… my mug is empty and it’s time to begin my day.  Until next time.

 

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

Leave a Reply

