RSS Feed

Rediscovering Meredith

Posted on

Let’s talk about Meredith.

Meredith was born during one of the rainiest Spring seasons I can remember, but she was such a ray of sunshine.  As a newborn, she was calm and easy.  She didn’t sleep well at night but otherwise, she was such a great baby.  She ate well, was easy to take places and adored her older sister and her Daddy.  She has always been a Daddy’s girl.

Image

Meredith has grown to be sweet and sassy, stubborn and loud.  She is cuddly and smart, rough and tumble.  I am not sure when her calm demeanor left her, but she roared into her toddler years with a vengeance.  She has spent a lot of her toddler life in “time out” and there is very little that is delicate about her now.  She is not lacking in personality… at all.

Since Nora has started preschool, I feel like I have been given a gift.  I am getting to know my youngest in a much different way.  Experiencing Meredith without the competition and sibling rivalry is amazing.  I have always known that she is insightful and perceptive.  I have always known that she takes intense joy in the world around her as she does nothing and feels nothing without a ton of energy and passion behind it.  I have always known that she is affectionate and gives the absolute best full on bear hugs on the planet.  I know that she is funny and spunky and adventurous.  I know Meredith.

But, the reality is that without the one on one time, I haven’t been able to fully appreciate it.  In our mornings together we are able to play, read and have conversations with each other.  We enjoy each other.  I am treasuring this time with my youngest and feel guilty that I haven’t given her this type of attention before now.  That I didn’t realize this was something we both needed.

Recently, we enrolled Meredith in gymnastics.

Image

She loves it.  She talks about it all week and calls it her “school” or her “nastics”.  I love watching her in her class and experiencing this new adventure with her.

I am incredibly grateful for both of my children, but I am so glad I am getting to know and spend time with my youngest right now.  She is still my little ray of sunshine.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

2 responses »

  1. Its uncanny how similar our youngest are…right down to their beginnings as mellow, easy going, tag along younger siblings turned wild, crazy, loud, fun loving kids!

    Reply
  2. It’s like they were saving it all up from the beginning… it makes me fear the teenage years 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

