RSS Feed

Cream of Potato Soup

Posted on

I have tried many different recipes for potato soup over the years and have not been incredibly impressed with any of them.  Until I found this one.  It’s easy and has good flavor.  It’s also really easy to make it semi-vegetarian for myself, while Dave can still eat it with the bacon.

Image

This recipe was not originally mine, but I have added some additions (and subtractions) so what follows is my adapted version.

Ingredients

6 slices of bacon, diced

1 onion, chopped

1 Tb all-purpose flour

6 cups chicken broth

6 potatoes, thinly sliced

½ cup instant potato flakes

1 cup half and half

Directions

  1. Saute bacon and onions in a medium sauté pan, set aside.  (I cook the bacon separately and then sauté onions in same pan once drained of grease.  This gives the soup some bacon flavor without the bacon.)
  2. Over low heat, in a medium sauce pan, cook flour in 1 Tb melted butter until pasty, slowly add chicken broth and bring to a boil.
  3. Stir in onions and bacon (I leave the bacon out and make my husband add it to his own servings later on.), stir in potatoes and instant potatoes.
  4. Simmer for 30 minutes until potatoes are tender, then blend in half and half.
  5. Top with shredded cheese and scallions.
About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

Leave a Reply

