RSS Feed

Halloween Love

Posted on

It seems like most people have a favorite holiday.  I would be willing to bet Christmas leads the way as the one the majority of people would pick.  And I do adore Christmas… the magic, the lights, the warmth, the anticipation…

But, if pressed to pick my favorite, it would probably have to be Halloween.  For me, it holds a lot of the same excitement and magic that Christmas does.  I remember being so excited as a kid, dressed up and anxiously waiting until the time when it was okay to start ringing doorbells.  I loved seeing all the costumes, being out after dark, congregating with everyone in the neighborhood at the end of the night for the hotdog and hot cider grill out that someone hosted each year.  It was thrilling.

Add to all of those memories, the fact that I love the colors and cooler weather of Fall and this is just the perfect time of year to me.

Image

When I met my husband, I realized that even though I have always loved scary movies and the excuse to pretend to be something or someone else for a night, I was no where near the enthusiast that I thought I was.  Dave LOVES Halloween.  The first month we were dating, I spent hours pushing pins through a skull cap to help him dress up as Pinhead.  The next year we went as Jack Skellington and Sally from the Nightmare Before Christmas… still what I consider to be our best costume to date.  People didn’t even recognize us.

Eventually we bought a house.  And this happened.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Something gets added to it every year.  And with the new house and yard, there is even more empty space for him to fill.  I think there may be a ghoulish wedding in the future for next year or maybe a Sweeny Todd exhibit.

It has really become a family celebration.  Both girls are as obsessed with watching “scary” movies, such as Para Norman and Frankenweenie.  And pretty much daily, one of them asks if they can go in the front yard to play with the “zombie”.

Image

This guy moves and talks.  He is, hands down, their favorite part of the yard display.

It’s all just so much fun.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

One response »

  1. Wish you lived in my neighborhood….!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

