The Simple Moments

Posted on

There are a lot of really amazing things about being a parent.  Too many to list actually and something you don’t really understand until you are a parent yourself.  Before you have kids, you think you get it, but you don’t have a clue.  The thing that gets me is when the really small moments take me by surprise and make my heart swell and sometimes bring tears to my eyes.  This was today’s moment:

Image

Not exactly the amazing, fill your heart with awe moment you were expecting is it?

I had put the sensory rice bin out on the deck to keep the kids busy while my husband and I tried to get some of the deck rails stained.  I walked out to see my typically sassy and rambunctious Meredith playing so sweetly… and it absolutely melted my heart.  It is in these very simple moments that I am utterly and completely overwhelmed by the love I have for my children.  So, I watched her for a while.  Quite a while actually as she filled her little plastic containers with rice and searched for the “jewels” and other things I had hidden in the rice.  And then I went and snapped this picture so that I could remember that moment of pure love and innocence in my little one who won’t be little forever.

About sarah

I am a married, working mother of two beautiful girls. I do not claim to be an expert at anything, but I am honest and try to keep a realistic and healthy perspective on life. I recently made a pact with myself to try to live as much in the moment as I can. I enjoy photography, cooking and seeing my children enjoy life. My life is hardly perfect, but I am pretty blessed.

Leave a comment